A better way to start learning web-development

A better way to start learning web-development

In this blog, I will be sharing how I paced up my web development journey, from following tutorials to making websites on my own. ๐ŸŒ

ยท

6 min read

Introduction

In this blog, I will be sharing how I paced up my web development journey, from following tutorials to making websites on my own. What mistakes have I made and how can you avoid them if you have to start developing websites in 2023? What resources to use, which videos to watch, should you buy online courses or not etc. I'll try to cover everything possible in this blog.

In this blog, I will only be focusing on Front-end development and sharing all the resources that I used.

Why I chose web development?

We live in a time where everyone uses the internet and accesses different types of websites every single day. Fascinated with how these websites work and how can I make them more beautiful, my curiosity made me start learning web development back in 2020.

What is web development?

Anything that you see with a www tag on it and requires the internet to access is a website, and the process behind building it is called web development.

There are two classifications of web developers/developments:

  1. Front-end Development

  2. Back-end Development

In this blog, I will mostly be sharing how to learn by doing i.e doing projects or building something helpful or even social media clones etc. I prefer learning by doing cause it has helped me a lot and you comparatively learn faster when you do instead of just watching tutorials or courses for 60+ hours and in the end not being able to build a plain HTML or CSS site.

Front-end Development

Front-end development is basically what the user sees or the user interacts with. Front-end deals with the cosmetics and the basic working of the website.

Front-end consists of -

  1. HTML - Hypertext markup language acts as a skeleton.

  2. CSS - Cascading style sheets, deals with the major appearance of the site.

  3. JavaScript - Scripting language used to provide dynamic working to the site.

    Image source - Geek for geeks

Source - geeksforgeeks.org

We will be discussing Tailwind CSS and React JS.

How to start Front-end?

The first thing when you start learning web development is, you must be clear with HTML, CSS and JavaScript.

I recommend not buying any courses on any platform, instead using free resources like different websites and youtube videos. As there are many free resources already available in 2022.

  • For basic HTML refer to w3 schools.

  • For getting an idea about how CSS works refer to the w3 schools docs and after practising using basic CSS switch to Tailwind CSS, cause it makes your web design easier and sorts most of the things for you.

    I prefer learning by doing so once you finish with basic CSS it's time to get going.

    Once you are done going through both CSS docs and have got an idea about how CSS works it's time for developing our first project using HTML and Tailwind CSS.

    This video helps you build Instagram Stories UI with Tailwind.

    Here is the list of a few more projects for polishing your HTML and Tailwind skills:-

  • Now we are done with all the static things in the front end, time to dig deeper in javascript now.

  • Javascript and HTML are both stored in different files and the more the content more the files making it harder to manage. Also creating javascript for every element out there in the HTML content can be tedious.

  • So to overcome this we use frameworks like react, angular or next.

  • In terms of learning quickly react can be the best option for beginners as it is easy to learn on the other hand angular is a full-fledged framework and can be hard to understand as a beginner. And next is just an updated version of ReactJS.

  • To start with react we need to make sure we understand what javascript is and for that, we'll again be referring to W3 docs and a few videos. Learning full javascript is not necessary, learning a few major concepts of JS and then switching to react will do the job. As you do react you also parallelly understand what JS is.

  • Before jumping on to react here are a few concepts of javascript that are a must:-

  1. Language syntax.

  2. Programming fundamentals like variables, functions, loops, conditionals, and how a program runs.

  3. Understanding of HTML, CSS, and how it connects to JavaScript with DOM API.

  4. Basic operations with JavaScript โ€“ network requests, alerts, DOM changes, event listeners

  5. Asynchronous behaviour of JavaScript โ€“ Callbacks, promises, async/await.

  6. Data structures and data types in JavaScript and how they differ from each other โ€“ string, boolean, undefined, null, objects, etc.

  7. ES6+ syntax โ€“ how ES6 module system works, why const and let were introduced, variable scoping concepts and function hosting.

How to start with Back-end?

  • I still haven't mastered the back end so I will be sharing a video with you for resources to use while doing the back end.

  • Meanwhile,

  • Back-end is the server side of a website. It is the part of the website that users don't.

  • It is the main data storing and managing side of a site or web app.

  • Image source - Geek for geeks

Outro

In this blog, I discussed whether to learn by doing or by following fancy tutorials.

Web development can be very easy if you start building the moment you understand the concepts.

Remember consistency is the key, doing every day for at least an hour can help you more instead of long hours just a day a week.

You can let me if this blog helped you by @ me on twitter (@tanishhire5) or commenting on this blog. You can connect with me by checking out - https://tanishhire.com/

That's a wrap.

I hope you found some value in this post.

Feel free to connect with me on Twitter.

I create content about:

  • Web Development

  • Technical Writing

  • Web design

  • Code vs No-code

Thanks for reading my blog, and see you in the next one.

ย